Share

NIKE BY YOU WORKSHOP X @herbbysince89

NIKE BY YOU WORKSHOP X @herbbysince89

NIKE BY YOU WORKSHOP X @herbbysince89

1/ Could you introduce yourself and tell us who Herbby is ? (Where you come from, who you are, your age (if you want), your origins, where you have lived…)

My name is Herbby. My name is inspired by the icon of modern music : Herbie Hancock. I was born in Basse-Terre, Guadeloupe, in 1989. I grew up in Noisiel, a suburb of Paris. I was immersed in a pronounced cultural universe, with a lot of music, books, outings, sports, travels at home and then abroad… I was a big football fan (and of Thierry Henry)  until 1997, but when Space Jam came out in France, I gave up football little by little for basketball. Space Jam made me discover Michael Jordan, basketball, NBA, sneakers and Hip-Hop !

2/ What do you do professionally and what are your passions ? Are the two linked ? (Work and passion)

I share my love for Sneakers, Basketball, Hip-Hop and Art as a Consultant, Event Speaker and Content Creator. I’ve always worked in fields that inspire me because our passions contribute to our fulfillment and that’s what I’m looking for, above all. To quote Maya Angelou, a committed poet and writer : you can only become truly accomplished at something you love. On this basis, you can only fully invest in your passions to develop, move forward and be happy.

In addition to the activities mentioned above, I launched my concept of Block Party « HerbbySince ’89 » in 2017, in my city, to promote these same passions, through cultural, artistic and sports activities. The first two editions were a real success with more than 1500 participants in total, an innovative artistic direction appreciated and an atmosphere worthy of Spike Lee’s 90s classics !

3/ When we think of Herbby we immediately associate him with Jordan and Nike. Where does this kind of association come from, which is obvious as a logical continuation ?

People often think I’m a « Nike/Jordan influencer », which is not the case. Before launching my activities, I worked at Nike for five years in Retail, Marketing and Events : events for the Jordan launches at the Nike Store Champs-Elysées, Quai 54, Palais 23 for the 30th anniversary of Jordan Brand in 2015, Air Max Day, NBA tip-off 2017 with Kobe Bryant in Paris, All Parisian Games… Hence this logical association with Nike and Jordan.

4/ Today you have the chance to collaborate with Nike By You on a creative project. Can you describe the Nike By You Workshop project in detail ?

Nike By You Workshop is a program that offers the opportunity for creative people to tell and share their stories through the co-creation of a pair of Nike sneakers.

Following an online application on a page dedicated to the program, we were about twenty selected Parisian designers from various backgrounds : a graphic designer, a visual artist, a dancer, a cook, a DJ, multidisciplinary artists… Once selected, we had about ten days to work on our design via an online platform and the conception of a « showcase » with content about us, our co-creation and our inspirations. We had the choice between three Air Max models (1, 90 or 97) and the theme of our co-creation was our Paris of the future. After validation from the program staff, we moved on to the promotion stage of our model in order to maximize our sales. In terms of promotion, we were totally independant and could use all types of media : photos, videos, press articles, podcasts, radio, Youtubeurs, influencers…Our co-creation is then put on sale on Nike.com, in (very) limited quantities, for about ten days, and we get a percentage of the selling price on each pair sold !

5/ Which model did you choose and why did you choose this cult model ?

I chose the Air Max 1 because it’s my favourite Air Max Sportswear model. I specify Sportswear because my favorite Air Max is an Air Max Basketball : the Air Max2 CB ’94 « The Road » by Charles Barkley.

The AM1 is a symbol of Paris city, thanks to its inspirations linked to the architecture of the Centre Pompidou, which corresponds to the theme of the project. And I had the chance to meet and interact three times with Tinker Hatfield, who is the designer of the model. I was able to get him to sign my Air Max 1 PRM « Hazelnut » (2012) at the « The Air Max Sneaker Ball » event in 2013, on the Centre Pompidou rooftop, so it’s a model that’s dear to my heart !

6/ Where did you get the inspiration for the design of this pair ?

I named my co-creation Nike Air Max 1 By You « Culture & Diversity ». It’s inspired by three key elements :

– The overall concept of my design is to emphasize the unity between gender (hence the Her and His on the back), the communities, suburbs and the Grand Paris. Paris is a cosmopolitan city, considered as the city of love but I find that there is still progress to be made in terms of unity. We’ve seen this for several months now with the Grand Paris project, which often excludes the suburbs from the conversation. That’s why I decided to convey this message of unity through the overall concept of my co-creation.

– The colours red, yellow and green symbolize the cultural diversity of Paris. They are inspired by the traditional fabric of the French West Indies, named « madras ». The madras is an Indian fabric from the homonymous city (renamed Chennai) which results from the artisanal weaving of banana tree fibers, then cotton and silk, in bright colors, forming checks and stripes. It arrived in the West Indies in the 17th century, with the wave of Indian deportation, under colonial domination and British slavery. Like the suburbs and the Grand Paris, the DOM-TOM are often excluded from conversations related to France, hence this choice to include them in my design.

– The colour yellow is also reminiscent of the unifying logo of the future Olympic and Paralympic Games of Paris 2024, which includes three symbols : the gold medal, the Olympic flame and the face of the Marianne (allegory of the French Republic). With this logo, the Organising Committee’s ambition is to bring the population to the center of the Games, which is linked to the message of unity that I wish to convey through my co-creation.

7/ After this first project with Nike By You, what project would you dream of setting up with Nike or Jordan?

If my design pleases, my promotion stands out and sales are good, the next step would be to work on a collaboration of an iconic sneaker model with Nike or Jordan. On my side, there is no lack of ideas, so it’s up to me to show that I can share my history, federate and sell with this first co-creation project Nike By You, to create possible future opportunities for me. Moreover, I appreciate Nike and Jordan’s approach of working with creative entities and personalities other than top athletes. I am closely following what DJ Clark Kent is doing with Nike as a Consultant and I hope to be able to work with the group in a similar dynamic.

8/ Now that you’ve made our mouths water, can you tell us more about the launch ? (Date, place, size, price…)

My co-creation Nike Air Max 1 By You « Culture & Diversity » will be available on Nike.com from Friday, June 19, 2020 at 5pm to Sunday, June 28, 2020 at 12pm, in (very) limited quantities, in women’s sizes from EU35.5 to EU44.5 and men’s sizes from EU38.5 to EU49.5, for 155€. Delivery in France only.

Indulge yourself and you’re welcome to tag me on Instagram (@herbbysince89) if you take pictures and/or videos with it. It will be my pleasure !

9/ Thank you for answering our questions. If you want to add something we didn’t mention, you now have the last word.

Thank you for your investment in Culture, for your interest in my work, for your shared strength on social networks and for your time for this article. I will conclude with the quote I composed for the project showcase : Culture is the key to unity in diversity. Learn. Share. Inspire.

Herbby (@herbbysince89

The Nike Air Max 1 designed by Herbby will be available on Friday June 19, 2020 on the Nike website HERE

Share post:

Leave A Comment

Your email is safe with us.

3 × three =

Selecta Bisso

FREE
VIEW

Share

NIKE BY YOU WORKSHOP X @herbbysince89

NIKE BY YOU WORKSHOP X @herbbysince89

NIKE BY YOU WORKSHOP X @herbbysince89

1/ Pourrais-tu te présenter et nous dire qui est Herbby ? (D’où tu viens, qui tu es, ton âge (si tu veux), tes origines, où tu as vécu…)

Je m’appelle Herbby. Mon prénom est inspiré de l’icône de la musique moderne : Herbie Hancock. Je suis né à Basse-Terre, en Guadeloupe, en 1989. J’ai grandi à Noisiel, en banlieue parisienne. J’ai baigné dans un univers culturel prononcé, avec beaucoup de musique, de livres, de sorties, du sport, des voyages au pays puis à l’étranger… J’étais un grand fan de football (et de Thierry Henry) jusqu’en 1997, mais lorsque Space Jam est sorti en France, j’ai abandonné le football petit à petit pour le basket. Space Jam m’a fait découvrir Michael Jordan, le basket-ball, la NBA, les baskets et le Hip-Hop !

2/ Que fais-tu dans la vie professionnellement parlant et quelles sont tes passions ? Les deux sont-ils liés ? (Travail et passion)

Je partage mon amour pour les Sneakers, le Basket-ball, le Hip-Hop et l’Art en tant que Consultant, Intervenant évènementiel et Créateur de contenu. J’ai toujours travaillé dans des domaines qui m’animent car nos passions contribuent à notre épanouissement et c’est ce que je recherche, avant toute chose. Pour reprendre une citation de la poétesse et écrivaine engagée, Maya Angelou : you can only become truly accomplished at something you love / tu ne peux être pleinement accompli(e) qu’en aimant ce que tu fais. À partir de là, on ne peut que s’investir pleinement dans ses passions pour se développer, avancer et être heureux(se).

En plus des activités mentionnées précédemment, j’ai lancé mon concept de Block Party “HerbbySince’89” en 2017, dans ma ville, afin de promouvoir ces mêmes passions, à travers des activités culturelles, artistiques et sportives. Les deux premières éditions ont connu un véritable succès avec plus de 1500 participants au total, une direction artistique novatrice appréciée et une ambiance digne des classiques des 90s de Spike Lee !

3/ Quand on pense à Herbby, on l’associe tout de suite à Jordan et Nike. D’où vient cette espèce d’association qui coule de source, comme une suite logique ?

On pense souvent que je suis un “influenceur Nike/Jordan”, ce qui n’est pas le cas. Avant de lancer mes activités, j’ai travaillé chez Nike pendant cinq ans, en Retail, Marketing et Event : évènements pour les lancements Jordan au Nike Store Champs-Elysées, Quai 54, Palais 23 pour les 30 ans de Jordan Brand en 2015, Air Max Day, NBA tip-off 2017 avec Kobe Bryant à Paris, All Parisian Games… D’où cette association logique avec Nike et Jordan.

4/ Tu as aujourd’hui la chance de pouvoir collaborer avec Nike By You sur un projet créatif, peux-tu nous décrire précisément le projet Nike By You Workshop ? 

 Nike By You Workshop est un programme qui offre l’opportunité à des créatifs de raconter et partager leur histoire à travers la co-création d’une paire de baskets Nike. Suite à une candidature en ligne sur une page dédiée au programme, nous étions une vingtaine de créatifs parisiens sélectionnés, issus d’univers divers et variés : une graphiste, un plasticien, une danseuse, un cuisinier, une DJ, des artistes multidisciplinaires… Une fois sélectionné(e)s, nous avons eu une dizaine de jours pour travailler sur notre design via une plateforme en ligne et la conception d’une “vitrine” avec du contenu sur nous, notre co-création et nos inspirations. Nous avions le choix entre trois modèles de Air Max (1, 90 ou 97) et le thème de notre co-création était notre Paris du futur. Après validation du staff du programme, nous passions à l’étape de promotion de notre modèle en vue de maximiser nos ventes. Niveau promotion, nous étions totalement autonomes et pouvions utiliser tous types de support : photos, vidéos, articles de presse, podcasts, radio, Youtubeurs, influenceurs… Notre co-création est ensuite mise en vente sur Nike.com, en quantités (très) limitées, pendant une dizaine de jours, et nous touchons un pourcentage du prix de vente sur chaque paire vendue !

5/ Quel modèle as-tu choisi et pourquoi avoir choisi ce modèle culte ?

J’ai choisi la Air Max 1 car c’est mon modèle de Air Max Sportswear préféré. Je précise Sportswear car ma Air Max préférée est une Air Max Basketball : la Air Max2 CB ’94 “The Road” de Charles Barkley.

La AM1 est un symbole de la ville de Paris, grâce à ses inspirations liées à l’architecture du Centre Pompidou, ce qui correspond au thème du projet. Et j’ai eu la chance de rencontrer et échanger trois fois avec Tinker Hatfield, qui est le designer du modèle. J’ai pu lui faire signer ma Air Max 1 PRM “Hazelnut” (2012) à l’évènement “The Air Max Sneaker Ball” en 2013, sur le rooftop du Centre Pompidou, donc c’est un modèle qui me tient à coeur !

6/ D’où t’es venue l’inspiration pour le design de cette paire ?

J’ai nommé ma co-création Nike Air Max 1 By You “Culture & Diversité”. Elle est inspirée de trois éléments clés :

 –    Le concept global de mon design est de mettre en avant l’unité entre les genres (d’où les Her et His à l’arrière), les communautés, les banlieues et le Grand Paris. Paris est une ville cosmopolite, considérée comme la ville de l’amour mais je trouve qu’il y a encore des progrès à faire en termes d’unité. On le voit notamment depuis plusieurs mois avec le projet du Grand Paris, qui exclut souvent les banlieues de la conversation. C’est pourquoi j’ai décidé de faire passer ce message d’unité à travers le concept global de ma co-création.

 –    Les couleurs rouge, jaune et verte symbolisent la diversité culturelle de Paris. Elles sont inspirées du tissu traditionnel des Antilles françaises, nommé “madras”. Le madras est un tissu indien de la ville homonyme (rebaptisée Chennai) qui résulte du tissage artisanal de fibres de bananier puis de coton et de soie, de couleurs vives, formant des carreaux et des rayures. Il est arrivé aux Antilles au XVIIème siècle, avec la vague de déportation indienne, sous domination coloniale et esclavagiste britannique. Tout comme les banlieues et le Grand Paris, les DOM-TOM sont souvent exclus des conversations liées à la France, d’où ce choix de les inclure dans mon design.

 –    La couleur jaune rappelle également le logo fédérateur des futurs Jeux Olympiques et Paralympiques de Paris 2024, qui reprend trois symboles : la médaille d’or, la flamme olympique et le visage de Marianne (allégorie de la République Française). Avec ce logo, le comité d’organisation a pour ambition de mettre la population au cœur des Jeux, ce qui est lié au message d’unité que je souhaite faire passer à travers ma co-création.

7/ Après ce premier projet avec Nike By You, quel serait le projet que tu rêverais de mettre en place avec Nike ou Jordan ?

Si mon design plait, que ma promotion se démarque et que les ventes suivent, l’étape suivante serait de travailler sur une collaboration d’un modèle de baskets iconique avec Nike ou Jordan. De mon côté, les idées ne manquent pas, donc à moi de montrer que je peux partager mon histoire, fédérer et vendre avec ce premier projet de co-création Nike By You, pour me créer d’éventuelles opportunités futures.

D’ailleurs, j’apprécie la démarche de Nike et Jordan de travailler avec des entités et personnalités créatives autres que des sportifs de haut niveau. Je suis de près ce que DJ Clark Kent fait avec Nike en tant que Consultant et j’espère pouvoir collaborer avec le groupe dans une dynamique similaire.

8/ Maintenant que tu nous as mis l’eau à la bouche, peux-tu nous en dire plus sur le lancement ? (Date, lieu, pointures, prix…)

 Ma co-création Nike Air Max 1 By You “Culture & Diversité” sera disponible sur Nike.com du Vendredi 19 juin 2020 à 17h au Dimanche 28 juin 2020 à 12h, en quantités (très) limitées, en pointures femmes du 35,5 au 44,5 et hommes du 38,5 au 49,5, à 155€. Livraison en France uniquement.

Faîtes-vous plaisir et n’hésitez pas à me tagguer sur Instagram (@herbbysince89) si vous prenez des photos et/ou des vidéos avec. Ça me fera plaisir !

9/ Merci d’avoir répondu à nos questions. Si tu souhaites ajouter quelque chose que nous n’avons pas évoqué, tu as maintenant le dernier mot.

Merci à vous pour votre investissement dans la Culture, pour l’intérêt que vous portez à mon travail, pour la force partagée sur les réseaux sociaux et pour votre temps pour cet article. Je vais conclure avec la citation que j’ai composée pour la vitrine du projet : La Culture est la clé de l’unité dans la diversité. Apprends. Partage. Inspire.

La Nike Air Max 1 designé par Herbby sera disponible le vendredi 19 juin 2020 sur le site internet de Nike ICI

 Herbby (@herbbysince89)

Partager le post :

Laisser un commentaire

Votre email est en sécurité avec nous.

13 − 5 =

Selecta Bisso

GRATUIT
VOIR