Share

adidas sells Reebok

adidas sells Reebok

adidas sells Reebok

The deal is done, the German group ADIDAS officially separates from the brand REEBOK. After many months of talks and various offers, including that of celebrities Master P and Baron Davis (article available HERE), ADIDAS sells REEBOK to the American conglomerate ABG for 2.5 billion dollars.

ABG or Authentic Brands Group is an American company that has already bought more than 30 brands, including Airwalk and Forever 21. It also owns Sports Illustrated magazine.

Jamie Salter, ABG’s founder, president and CEO, said : « It’s an honor to be entrusted with carrying on the Reebok legacy. This is an important milestone for ABG and we are committed to preserving the integrity, innovation and values of Reebok. We look forward to working closely with the Reebok team to capitalize on the brand’s success. »

Adidas had bought Reebok in 2006 for 3.5 billion dollars in an effort to become an effective competitor to Nike. Despite design and marketing efforts, and then the launch of the turnaround plan called « Muscle Up » in 2016, expectations were not met. The year 2020 was particularly difficult, with Reebok suffering several asset write-downs. The brand weighed only 803 million euros within the group. The sale of Reebok to ABG is also part of ADIDAS’ « Own The Game » strategy, which has been in place since last March and runs until 2025. It aims to increase sales and profitability of the German label in a « one brand » strategy, in other words « three stripes and nothing else ».

The transaction for the sale of Reebok by ADIDAS will be completed in the first quarter of 2022. ABG is confident about Reebok’s bright future and ADIDAS says the sale has no impact on its financial outlook for the current year or on its ambition for the following years. Stay tuned !

Share post:

Leave A Comment

Your email is safe with us.

fourteen − three =

Selecta Bisso

FREE
VIEW

Share

adidas sells Reebok

adidas sells Reebok

adidas sells Reebok

Le marché est conclu, le groupe allemand ADIDAS se sépare officiellement de la marque REEBOK. Après de longs mois de pourparlers et différentes offres, dont celle des célébrités Master P et Baron Davis (article dispo ICI),  ADIDAS vend REEBOK au conglomérat américain ABG pour 2,1 milliards d’euros (2,5 milliards de dollars).

ABG ou Authentic Brands Group est une société américaine qui a déjà racheté plus de 30 marques, dont Airwalk et Forever 21. Elle possède également le magazine Sports Illustrated.

Jamie Salter, le fondateur, président-directeur général d’ABG, a déclaré : « C’est un honneur d’être chargé de perpétuer l’héritage de Reebok. Il s’agit d’une étape importante pour ABG et nous nous engageons à préserver l’intégrité, l’innovation et les valeurs de Reebok. Nous sommes impatients de travailler en étroite collaboration avec l’équipe Reebok pour capitaliser sur le succès de la marque. »

Adidas avait racheté Reebok en 2006 pour 3,1 milliard d’euros (3,5 milliards de dollars) dans le but de devenir un concurrent efficace de Nike. Malgré les efforts de design et de  marketing, puis du lancement du plan de redressement appelé « Muscle Up » en 2016, les attentes n’ont pas été honorées. L’année 2020 a été particulièrement difficile, Reebok a subi plusieurs dépréciations d’actifs. La marque pesait uniquement 803 millions d’euros au sein du groupe. La vente de Reebok à la société ABG fait également partie de la stratégie « Own The Game » d’ADIDAS, mise en place depuis mars dernier et jusqu’en 2025. Elle a pour but d’augmenter les ventes et la rentabilité du label allemand dans une stratégie de « marque unique », autrement dit « trois bandes et rien d’autre ».

La transaction de la vente de Reebok par ADIDAS se concrétisera au cours du premier trimestre 2022. ABG a confiance quant à l’avenir prometteur de Reebok et ADIDAS déclare que cette vente n’a aucun impact sur ses perspectives financières pour l’année en cours, ni sur son ambition pour les années suivantes. Restez connectés !

 

Partager le post :

Laisser un commentaire

Votre email est en sécurité avec nous.

18 + dix-sept =

Selecta Bisso

GRATUIT
VOIR