Collection adidas x Thebe Magugu « Finding Beauty »

The German sportswear giant continues to present us with ideal collaborations for the summer season. After teaming up with Ibiza legend CIRCOLOCO (article available HERE), ADIDAS has worked with South African designer Thebe Magugu for an exclusive collection.

Thebe Magugu is a young designer not even 30 years old who has already proven himself in the fashion world. In September 2019, he’s the winner of the prestigious LVMH Prize for Young Designers. Thebe Magugu is then 26 years old. He is not only « the youngest of the 2019 selection », but also the 1st African to win the prize, as Delphine Arnault, the deputy CEO of Louis Vuitton, who initiated the competition, reminded. The award comes with 300,000 euros in financial support and a one-year mentorship from LVMH teams. From his workshop in Johannesburg, where he works, he strives to demystify the stereotypes of the South African aesthetic through his eponymous brand.

Thebe Magugu explained, « At first, my interest in fashion was purely aesthetic. Later, I began to see its cerebral dimension and its powerful ability to communicate ideas. I’m not very talkative, but, through my collections, everyone can perceive my opinions. »

This 1st ever collaborative capsule consists of shoes and clothing inspired by African heritage and inclusiveness. It specifically references Thebe’s childhood memories and family, as well as all the positive influences around him and his sense of community.

This bold collection falls somewhere between lifestyle and performance, with its technical materials and bright colors as well as eye-catching artistic designs.

The apparel collection includes tennis gear, running gear, swimwear and UNITEFIT pieces. The apparel is presented in bright colors such as lilac, pink, orange and golden yellow, and may feature multi-colored patterns inspired by Thebe Magugu’s mother, grandmother and aunt and designed by artist Phathu Nembilwi.

On the sneaker side, the South African designer brought his touch to the classic ADIDAS Stan Smith, Astir, Nizza Platform and Forum silhouettes. These shoes have a design that matches the textile pieces.

About the collab, Thebe Magugu said : « I am endlessly inspired by the energy of the women in my life and the heritage of my homeland. Bringing together such personal stories through design and mixing them with iconic ADIDAS performance and lifestyle pieces has been an incredible process. The collection really celebrates all the positive influences around me and a sense of community that is so important to me. I hope it inspires the same sense of joy in those who wear it. »

The adidas x Thebe Magugu « Finding Beauty » collection was released exclusively on August 1, 2022 for adiClub members via early access. The general release will take place on August 15, 2022 in stores and online at adidas.com.

Article written by:

Partners offers

Partager :

Facebook
Twitter
Pinterest
LinkedIn

À DÉCOUVRIR

Collection adidas x Thebe Magugu « Finding Beauty »

Le géant allemand du sportswear continue de nous présenter des collaborations idéales pour la saison estivale. Après avoir fait équipe avec la légende d’Ibiza CIRCOLOCO (article disponible ICI), ADIDAS s’est associé au designer sud-africain Thebe Magugu pour une collection exclusive.

Thebe Magugu est un jeune créateur de même pas 30 ans qui a déjà fait ses preuves dans le monde de la mode. En septembre 2019, il est le lauréat du prestigieux Prix LVMH pour les jeunes créateurs. Thebe Magugu a alors 26 ans. Il est non seulement « le plus jeune de la sélection 2019 », mais aussi le 1er Africain à remporter le prix, comme l’a rappelé Delphine Arnault, la directrice générale adjointe de Louis Vuitton, à l’initiative du concours. Une consécration assortie d’un soutien financier de 300 000 euros et d’un mentorat d’un an assuré par les équipes de LVMH. Depuis son atelier de Johannesburg où il travaille, il s’applique à démystifier les stéréotypes de l’esthétique sud-africaine à travers sa marque éponyme.

Thebe Magugu a expliqué : « Au début, mon intérêt pour la mode était purement esthétique. Plus tard, j’ai commencé à percevoir sa dimension cérébrale et sa puissante capacité à communiquer des idées. Je ne suis pas très bavard, mais, à travers mes collections, chacun peut percevoir mes opinions. »

Cette toute 1ère capsule collaborative se compose de chaussures et de vêtements inspirés de l’héritage africain et de l’inclusivité. Elle fait référence plus particulièrement aux souvenirs d’enfance de Thebe et de sa famille, ainsi qu’à toutes les influences positives autour de lui et à son sens de la communauté.

Cette collection audacieuse se situe entre le lifestyle et la performance, avec ses matériaux techniques et ses couleurs vives ainsi que ses motifs artistiques accrocheurs.

La collection apparel comprend des articles pour le tennis, des vêtements de course, des maillots de bain et de pièces UNITEFIT. Ces vêtements sont présentés de couleurs vives telles que du lilas, rose, orange et jaune or, et peuvent comporter de motifs multicolores inspirés par la mère, grand-mère et tante de Thebe Magugu et conçus par l’artiste Phathu Nembilwi.

Côté sneakers, le designer sud-africain a apporté sa touche aux silhouettes classiques ADIDAS Stan Smith, Astir, Nizza Platform et Forum. Ces chaussures arborent un design matchant avec les pièces textiles.

A propos de cette collab, Thebe Magugu a déclaré : « Je suis infiniment inspiré par l’énergie des femmes dans ma vie et l’héritage de ma terre natale. Rassembler de telles histoires personnelles à travers le design et les mélanger avec les pièces de performance et de style de vie emblématiques d’ADIDAS a été un processus incroyable. La collection célèbre vraiment toutes les influences positives autour de moi et un sens de la communauté qui est si important pour moi. J’espère qu’il inspirera le même sentiment de joie chez ceux qui le porteront. »

La collection adidas x Thebe Magugu « Finding Beauty » est sortie en exclusivité le 1er août 2022 pour les membres adiClub via un early access. La sortie générale aura lieu le 15 août 2022 en boutique et online sur adidas.com.

Article rédigé par :

Offres partenaires

Partager :

Facebook
Twitter
Pinterest
LinkedIn

À DÉCOUVRIR