Share

Salehe BEMBURY leaves Versace

Salehe BEMBURY leaves Versace

Salehe BEMBURY leaves Versace

The winner of the prestigious title « Footwear designer of the year » Salehe Bembury announces his departure from Versace. Since 2017, the New York designer had been vice president sneakers and footwear for the iconic Italian luxury brand. For 2021, he wants to take off and launch his own label, which will most certainly focus on elegant, innovative and functional designs.

Salehe Bembury’s collaborations with Boston-based NEW BALANCE and China’s ANTA label marked 2020 (articles available on this site). In addition to being well-engineered sneakers, they are also affordable, which is a nice gesture from a renowned designer. We can legitimately think that in 2021, Salehe Bembury will present us with strong creations, with eye-catching design, steeped in history and modernity.

Born and raised in Manhattan’s Tribeca neighborhood and with a degree in industrial design from Syracuse University, Salehe BEMBURY, began his career in the shoe industry by designing men’s and women’s models for Payless, an American discount shoe retailer. He says, « Looking back, it was very informative because Payless makes every type of shoe imaginable at a low price. » Salehe also worked at Cole Haan, and it was his manager who introduced him to the famous rapper-designer Kanye West. West was immediately taken with Salehe’s designs and hired him for his YEEZY brand. Salehe stayed there from the end of 2015 to mid 2016. We know what happened next : Vice President Sneakers and Footwear at the luxury house Versace, from 2017 to the end of 2020. During its 3 years, Salehe Bembury brought a new breath to the Italian brand’s shoe offers. He knew how to combine luxury and street, in a pure elegance. His most striking creations are the popular « Chain Reaction », the « Trigreca » that modernizes the Versace heritage, and the retro « SQUALO » paying tribute to Apple. Grateful for the place Donatella Versace gave him, Salehe said of her : « Donatella gave me a life-changing opportunity and she gave me a platform. Often, people who look like me are not placed in the same situation as me, do not get into this kind of position and I hope that role will be used as a vehicle for progress. » Pointing to racial discrimination in employment and in daily life in general, Salehe Bembury has already demonstrated her commitment to defending and ensuring equal rights and freedoms for all, through Instagram posts and peaceful actions of support, including many kilometers of cycling.

Salehe Bembury opens a new page by leaving Versace and launching its own brand. This lover of nature and wide open spaces, practices hiking almost daily. He loves climbing mountains, walking above the clouds and leaving the stress generated by our society below. Salehe Bembury meditates, observes, listens and reflects on new designs. He says he is « passionate about finding innovative solutions to real-world design problems » and believes that the functionality of clothing and footwear should not be a luxury but a right. His future brand therefore seems promising, perhaps close to sustainable development and hopefully accessible to all…

Share post:

Leave A Comment

Your email is safe with us.

nine − six =

Selecta Bisso

FREE
VIEW

Share

Salehe BEMBURY quitte Versace

Salehe BEMBURY quitte Versace

Salehe BEMBURY quitte Versace

Le lauréat du prestigieux titre « créateur de chaussures de l’année » Salehe Bembury annonce son départ de la maison Versace. Depuis 2017, le designer new yorkais était vice-président sneakers et footwear de l’iconique marque italienne de luxe. Pour 2021, il souhaite prendre son envol et lancer son propre label, qui sera très certainement axé sur des conceptions élégantes, innovantes et fonctionnelles.

Les collaborations de Salehe Bembury avec l’équipementier de Boston NEW BALANCE et avec le label chinois ANTA ont marqué 2020 (articles dispos sur ce site). En plus d’être des sneakers bien élaborées, elles affichent des prix tout à fait abordables, ce qui est un beau geste venant d’un designer de grande renommée. On peut légitimement penser qu’en 2021, Salehe Bembury nous présentera des créations fortes, au design accrocheur, imprégnées d’histoire et de modernité.

Né et élevé dans le quartier Tribeca à Manhattan et diplômé en design industriel à l’Université de Syracuse, Salehe BEMBURY, a débuté dans l’industrie de la chaussure en concevant des modèles pour hommes et femmes chez Payless, une enseigne américaine proposant des chaussures à prix réduit. Il déclare à ce sujet « Rétrospectivement, c’était très instructif car Payless rend tous types de chaussures imaginables à un prix peu élevé. » Salehe a aussi travaillé chez Cole Haan, c’est d’ailleurs son directeur qui l’a présenté au fameux rappeur-designer Kanye West. Ce dernier a tout de suite été séduit par les créations de Salehe et l’a embauché pour sa marque YEEZY. Salehe est y resté de fin 2015 à mi 2016. La suite, on la connaît : vice président sneakers et footwear dans la maison de luxe Versace, de 2017 à fin 2020. Durant ses 3 années, Salehe Bembury a apporté un nouveau souffle aux offres de chaussures de la marque italienne. Il a su allier luxe et street, dans une élégance pure. Ces créations les plus marquantes sont la populaire « Chain Reaction », la « Trigreca » qui modernise l’héritage Versace, et la retro « SQUALO » rendant hommage à Apple. Reconnaissant de la place que lui a offert Donatella Versace, Salehe a déclaré à son sujet :« Donatella m’a offert une opportunité qui a changé ma vie et elle m’a offert une plateforme. Souvent, des personnes qui me ressemblent ne sont pas placées dans la même situation que moi, n’accèdent pas à ce genre de poste et j’espère que mon rôle sera utilisé comme un vecteur de progrès. » Pointant du doigt la discrimination raciale dans l’accession à l’emploi et dans la vie quotidienne en général, Salehe Bembury a déjà démontré son engagement dans la défense et l’égalité des libertés et des droits de tous, à travers des posts Instagram et des actions pacifiques de soutien, notamment en parcourant de nombreux kilomètres à vélo.

Salehe Bembury ouvre une nouvelle page en quittant Versace et lançant sa propre marque. Cet amoureux de la nature et des grands espaces, pratique la randonnée quasi quotidiennement. Il aime gravir la montagne, marcher au dessus des nuages et laisser en bas le stress généré par notre société. Salehe Bembury médite, observe, écoute et réfléchit sur de nouveaux designs. Il se dit« passionné par la recherche de solutions innovantes aux problèmes de conception du monde réel » et estime que la fonctionnalité des vêtements et des chaussures ne doit pas être un luxe mais un droit. Sa future marque paraît donc prometteuse, peut-être proche du développement durable et espérons-le, accessible à tous… Vivement 2021 !

Partager le post :

Laisser un commentaire

Votre email est en sécurité avec nous.

5 × quatre =

Selecta Bisso

GRATUIT
VOIR