Share

DANIEL ARSHAM: BLUE CRYSTALIZED PIKACHU

DANIEL ARSHAM: BLUE CRYSTALIZED PIKACHU

DANIEL ARSHAM: BLUE CRYSTALIZED PIKACHU

Multidisciplinary American contemporary artist Daniel Arsham is known for his bubbling ideas and unclassifiable creations. His work encompasses drawing, painting, sculpture, installation, video, scenography…and can be found as much in the fashion of haute couture, as recently with the collaboration Dior, as in a more street world, with the creation of the bronze Spalding basketball or the Gameboy Crystal.

 His creations of objects or works that have marked their era belong to architecture, art with touches of archaeology, combined with performance. Moreover, we remember that the artist with multiple influences, including pop culture, reproduced the synthesizer of the talented musician Pharell Williams in volcanic ash.

 Today, it’s on a famous character, known to young and old alike, that this Daniel Arsham wanted to bring his vision : Pikachu from Pokemon. The creator is fossilizing essential elements of our society by re-imagining it as a monument of the Kanto region. This collaborative sculpture appeared in white for China exclusively and will be available in crystal blue for the rest of the world.

The “Blue Crystalized Pikachu” is a work of art created from a hand-carved Pikachu made from ice blue cast resin and aluminum oxide. This collector’s item measures 33 centimetres by 5.13 kilograms. Like the iconic Japanese character, the sculpture has a frank smile and exudes a beautiful enthusiasm. However, the artist has added his touch by creating an open space, allowing the inside of the work to be seen, on the belly, forehead and part of the back. Other parts such as the ear, the paw and a piece of the tail seem to be “bitten”. This sculpture is reminiscent of ancestral statues, with traces of the passage of time, exhibited in the largest museums. To perfect the precious side of the work, it’s delivered in a case created by the Arsham workshop with a die-cut protective foam, a sealing label and a pair of personalised artistic handling gloves. Also, each Pikachu includes a holographic label allowing verification of its edition number and authenticity.

 The sculpture “Blue Crystalized Pikachu” will be available on Friday, April 24, 2020 on the author’s website www.danielarsham.com/shop.

This edition is limited to 500 copies worldwide.

 In this period of lockdown, I invite you to take a look through the books presenting Daniel Ashram’s work and take advantage of the online virtual tours of art exhibitions to discover his creations.

Share post:

Leave A Comment

Your email is safe with us.

20 + eighteen =

Selecta Bisso

FREE
VIEW

Share

DANIEL ARSHAM: BLUE CRYSTALIZED PIKACHU

DANIEL ARSHAM: BLUE CRYSTALIZED PIKACHU

DANIEL ARSHAM: BLUE CRYSTALIZED PIKACHU

L’artiste contemporain américain multidisciplinaire, Daniel Arsham, est connu pour ses idées bouillonnantes et ses créations inclassables. Son travail englobe dessin, peinture, sculpture, installation, vidéo, scénographie…et peut se retrouvait autant dans le mode de la haute couture, comme dernièrement avec la collaboration Dior, que dans un univers plus street, avec notamment la création du ballon de basket Spalding en bronze ou la Gameboy Crystal.

 Ses créations d’objets ou d’œuvres qui ont marqués leur époque appartiennent à l’architecture, à l’art avec des touches d’archéologie, combinés à la performance. D’ailleurs, on se souvient que l’artiste aux influences multiples, dont la pop culture, a reproduit le synthétiseur du talentueux musicien Pharell Williams en cendres volcaniques.

Aujourd’hui, c’est sur un personnage célèbre, connu des petits et des grands, que ce Daniel Arsham a voulu apporter sa vision  : Pikachu de Pokemon. Le créateur fossilise des éléments incontournables de notre société en le réimaginant comme un monument de la région de Kanto. Cette sculpture collaborative apparaissait en coloris blanc pour la Chine exclusivement et sera disponible en bleu cristal pour le reste du monde.

Le « Blue Crystalized Pikachu » est un œuvre créée à partir d’un Pikachu sculpté à la main et se composant de résine de coulée de couleur bleu glacier et d’oxyde d’aluminium. Cette pièce de collection mesure 33 centimètres pour 5,13 kilogrammes. Comme l’iconique personnage japonais, la sculpture arbore un franc sourire et dégage un bel enthousiasme. Cependant, l’artiste a porté sa touche en lui créant un espace ouvert, laissant apercevoir l’intérieur de l’œuvre, au niveau du ventre et du front et d’une partie du dos. D’autres parties comme l’oreille, la patte et un morceau de la queue semblent « croqués ». Cette sculpture rappelle les statues ancestrales, comportant des traces du temps écoulé, exposées dans les plus grands musées. Pour parfaire le coté précieux de l’œuvre, elle est livrée dans un boîtier crée par l’atelier d’Arsham avec une mousse de protection découpée à l’emporte-pièce, une étiquette de scellage et une paire de gants de manipulation artistiques personnalisés. Aussi, chaque Pikachu comprend une étiquette holographique permettant la vérification de son numéro d’édition et son authenticité.

La sculpture « Blue Crystalized Pikachu » sera disponible vendredi 24 avril 2020 sur le site de l’auteur www.danielarsham.com/shop

Cette édition est limitée à 500 exemplaires au monde.

 En cette période de confinement, je vous invite à profiter de quelques instants pour vous penchez sur les livres présentant le travail de Daniel Ashram et profiter des visites virtuelles en ligne d’expositions d’art pour découvrir ses créations.

Partager le post :

Laisser un commentaire

Votre email est en sécurité avec nous.

six + 15 =

Selecta Bisso

GRATUIT
VOIR