Share

PATTA x Tommy Hilfiger

PATTA x Tommy Hilfiger

PATTA x Tommy Hilfiger

Amsterdam-based streetwear brand PATTA has unveiled details of its first collaboration with legendary American high-end label Tommy Hilfiger. Teased a few days ago on social networks (article available HERE), the capsule is centered on the Pan-African flag, unity and community.

Pan-Africanism is a social, economic, cultural and political vision of emancipation of African communities. This movement aims to unify Africans on the continent with those of the global African diaspora.

In these times of division and individualism, the two partners wished to convey a positive message of unity and common strength, remembering the past and with the certainty of a bright future. This collection aims to highlight African culture and the self-actualization of African communities on the continent and around the world.

PATTA has reworked the iconic white, red and blue Tommy Hilfiger logo to feature the colors of the red, black and green Pan-African flag. These colors also pay homage to the Moroccan and Surinamese flags.  This unisex collection includes clothing in adult and children’s sizes. It’s based on iconic pieces from the archives of the American brand, reimagined by Patta. We find long jackets, jeans, hoodies, sweatshirts, t-shirts and caps, presented in the colors of the Pan-African flag and decorated with inspirational messages. On these items, the Tommy Hilfiger flag is revisited alongside the Patta logo and the capsule theme « Unity is Strength, Division is Weakness ». Some pieces are embellished with the words « Love for all » and the slogan « Great Principles, Great Ideals Know No Nationality ».

To complete the strong message of this collaboration, PATTA called on Nigerian filmmaker Dafe Oboro to film the campaign in Lagos through his short film « Two Becomes One » and Moroccan visual artist Hassan Hajjaj for the photo shoot. The documentary « Katibo Yeye » directed in 2003 by Frank Zichem can be viewed on pattaxtommy.com for a limited time. This work deals with slavery and the sea route from Ghana to Suriname taken by the ancestors of Surinamese musician based actually in the Neterlands, Clarence Breeveld.

The PATTA x Tommy Hilfiger collection will be released on April 9, 2021 via pattaxtommy.com, on the PATTA app and in PATTA stores in Milan and Amsterdam. It will be available a few days later on April 12 in the PATTA shop in London and at select retailers on April 16, 2021.

Both partners will donate to three organizations supporting African diaspora communities : The Black Archives from Amsterdam, London’ Sistah Space and The Good Neighborhood Collective from Milan. Be ready !

Share post:

Leave A Comment

Your email is safe with us.

thirteen − 1 =

Selecta Bisso

FREE
VIEW

Share

Collection PATTA x Tommy Hilfiger

Collection PATTA x Tommy Hilfiger

Collection PATTA x Tommy Hilfiger

La marque streetwear basée à Amsterdam PATTA a dévoilé les détails de sa première collaboration avec le légendaire label américain haut de gamme Tommy Hilfiger. Teasée il y a quelques jours sur les réseaux sociaux (article disponible ICI), la capsule est centrée sur le drapeau panafricain, l’unité et la communauté.

Le Panafricanisme est à la fois une vision sociale, économique, culturelle et politique d’émancipation des communautés africaines. Ce mouvement vise à unifier les africains du continent avec ceux de la diaspora africaine mondiale.

En ces temps de division et d’individualisme, les deux partenaires ont souhaité transmettre un message positif d’union et de force commune, en se souvenant du passé et avec la certitude d’un avenir radieux. Cette collection a pour but de mettre en lumière la culture africaine et l’auto-réalisation des communautés africaines sur le continent et à travers le monde.

PATTA  a retravaillé l’emblématique logo blanc, rouge et bleu de Tommy Hilfiger pour le présenter aux couleurs du drapeau panafricain rouge, noir et vert. Ces couleurs rendent également hommage au drapeau marocain et surinamien.  Cette collection unisexe comprend des vêtements en tailles adultes et enfants. Elle s’articule autour de pièces emblématiques issues des archives de la marque américaine, réimaginées par Patta. On retrouve des vestes longues d’extérieur, jeans, hoodies, sweats, t-shirts et des casquettes, présentés aux couleurs du drapeau panafricain et orné de messages inspirants. Sur ces articles, le drapeau Tommy Hilfiger revisité se retrouve aux côtés du logo Patta et du thème de la capsule « Unity is Strenght, Division is Weakness » (L’Unité fait la force, la division est la faiblesse). Certaines pièces sont agrémentées de la mention « Love for all » (Amour pour tous) et du slogan « Great Principles, Great Ideals Know No Nationality » (Les Grands Principes, les Grands Idéaux ne connaissent Aucune Nationalité).

Pour compléter le message fort de cette collaboration, PATTA a fait appel au cinéaste nigérian Dafe Oboro pour filmer la campagne à Lagos à travers son court-métrage « Two Becomes One » et au photographe-artiste visuel marocain Hassan Hajjaj pour le shooting photos. Le documentaire « Katibo Yeye » réalisé en 2003 par Frank Zichem peut être visionner sur pattaxtommy.com, pour une durée limitée. Cette œuvre traite de l’esclavage et de la route maritime du Ghana au Suriname empruntée par les ancêtres du musicien surinamien basé actuellement aux Pays-Bas, Clarence Breeveld.

La collection PATTA x Tommy Hilfiger sortira le 9 avril 2021 via pattaxtommy.com, sur l’appli PATTA et dans les boutiques PATTA de Milan et d’Amsterdam. Elle sera disponible quelques jours plus tard, le 12 avril dans le shop PATTA de Londres et chez certains revendeurs le 16 avril 2021.

Les deux partenaires feront un don à trois organisations soutenant les communautés de la diaspora africaine : The Black Archives from Amsterdam, London’ Sistah Space et The Good Neighborhood Collective de Milan. Soyez prêts !

Partager le post :

Laisser un commentaire

Votre email est en sécurité avec nous.

deux + 11 =

Selecta Bisso

GRATUIT
VOIR